The obligatory intro

Full disclosure: I wrote this post already and forgot to “save and publish” so it is now lost in cyberspace. Clearly, I’m off to a great start…

First off, the name of my blog is misleading. I don’t have three kids. I DO have one dog though. My husband and I have two children, but always planned on having a total of three. I don’t know how to change the name of a blog once it’s started, so I figured I’d be optimistic.

My husband and I have been together for six years now, married for two. He brought to me a love deeper than anything I have ever experienced, and a premade family (technically my oldest is a “step” but she lives with us and I have never considered her to be anything less than my own). we had our son about a year ago, and are in the process of renovating a house, planing a garden, participating in school, church and community events, raising good humans, and maintaining our sanity.

For future reference, out of respect for my family members’ privacy, I will not be using their names. DH is how I will refer to my dear husband, SD for my daughter, and BS for my birth son. (I got these handy letters from some co-parenting/blended family support groups I am in.) ¬†although, there is a good chance that I may refer to sd as my daughter, and that is only out of habit. I adore her as if she were my own, and her birth mom even tells me to treat her as if she were mine and that she has two mom’s. which is amazing. But I also don’t want to step on her toes. Birth mom’s. because without her I wouldn’t have the most important girl in my world. (Also, if I talk about my daughter’s other mom, she gets the initials BM. Which are birth mom. NOT biomom. That just feels disrespectful to me and even on the days I can’t stand her, she does deserve respect.) I’m getting a little too close to getting on a soapbox about stepparenting, so I think I’ll stop.

And that, my friends, is my obligatory introduction post:)

post

Leave a Reply

